Mock the Fic: I am Nikki Heat Chapter 9


I can safely say, no smut in this chapter. The angels are singing ‘Hallelujah!’ And the only lemons nearby is the cold glass of lemonade I am drinking. Lets enjoy this fluffy chapter as it is what it is.


Title: I’m Nikki Heat Author:4evercaskett Summary: Kate gets hurt and is a little confused about who she is. Rating: M

***OK, I am now looking for a Beta Reader. I would prefer to have someone that watches both Bones and Castle so if anyone is interested or knows someone that would be willing to help, please let me know. Sorry for the delay in updating, but I just couldn’t find the time to write.

Now? You wait till now to get a beta reader? Really? And you don’t need someone who watches Bones and Castle to beta read, unless that means you are adding Bones to the fic. Oh crap, you are, aren’t you?

It was getting late in the evening when Rick pulled Kate closer to him and began nibbling her neck. “So, I’ve been thinking… we should throw a big party and announce to everyone that we are in love and..”

Normally you don’t do this unless you are engaged. Seriously, Hallmark doesn’t make a “Finally we had sex!” invitation.

“No way Castle, that’s not gonna happen.”

Hallmark also doesn’t make a “Congratulations on finally hooking up!” card ether.

Rick pulled his lips away from her skin to give her his hurt look. “How about a little party?”

No, trust me, that’s in bad taste.

“How about this… we sneak home tonight, inform your mother and Alexis about the change in our relationship, and take things from there.”

How about we pretend nothing happened and just go from there?

Like a man on a mission, Rick quickly stood up and began dressing. “Get a move on Detective, we have a long drive ahead of us.”

Wow, that’s some way to kick a girl out of your bed.

They were packed and headed out the door before it even got dark out.

Did they even sleep last night or just have sex?

As the pulled onto the interstate, Kate took Rick’s hand and laced her fingers in his. “I thought you would put up more of a fight with me for wanting to leave sooner.”

The trip hasn’t ended yet. Oh and it’s they, not the.

Rick brought their joined hands to his mouth and kissed her knuckles tenderly. “I can’t wait to tell Alexis and mother about us. They are going to almost as happy as I am about it.”

Probably because they won the bet.

“You think so Castle?”

“I know so Beckett! You just wait, when they find out that we finally admitted our feelings to each other, they will have you moved in before dawn.”

Once again, Hallmark doesn’t make a card for this occasion.

Kate turned her face towards the door not wanting him to see her tears. “What if you’re wrong.”

Well then, you will be shunned out of New York and left to die in Long Island.

“Listen to me Kate, I have listened to them take your side for years, telling me not to mess this up.

What side of Kate’s are they taking? The side that says, “We aren’t in a relationship?”

They want us to be together and they will be ecstatic when they find out that we finally are.”

Fireworks will be set off in New York for this momentous occasion.

Kate nodded but didn’t turn her face from the window. She watched as the landscape changed and they neared home in silence.

They pulled into his parking garage and exited the vehicle, walking towards the elevator hand in hand. “Are you ready for this?” Rick ask as they rode the lift to his floor.

Shhhh no one mention the surprise party waiting for them above.

Kate took in a deep breath as the elevator doors opened up and gripped his hand tight. “As long as you are beside me, I am ready for anything.”

Rick opened the door to his loft and sat their bags down. “Mother, Alexis…we’re home. Hello? Anybody here?”

“Richard!” Martha walked out from the kitchen holding a takeout menu. “I thought you said you wouldn’t be home until tomorrow.”

They ran out of sheets in the Hampton’s.

Kate eased past Rick and Martha held her arms open in invitation, enveloping her in a hug. “Kate my dear, we are all so glad you are feeling better. You had us worried there for a little while.”

“Thanks Martha,” Kate began, “I should have been more careful crossing the street.”

Really? So when chasing a criminal you should stop, look both ways, then run across the street?

Rick made his way to the bottom of the stairs and called out for Alexis. “Dad! Kate!” The youngest Castle descended the stairs quickly and wrapped her arms around the two of them. “You’re home early.”

Rick kissed his daughters forehead and motioned for his mother and Alexis to take a seat. “Kate and I have something to tell you.”

We are having a baby!

The two redheads sat side by side on the sofa, smiling because they had a feeling what this was about. They noted how the two stepped closer to each other and that their hands were clasp together as Rick took a deep breath, then spoke.

“Kate and I would like for you to be the first to know…we have finally admitted our feeling for each other.”

So is Alexis eight years old, because that’s the way you are talking to her?

“It’s about damn time!” Martha jumped up and hugged both of them as Alexis just sat there, in shock.

Kate noticed how the teenager just sat there, staring off into space so she went over to her and placed a hand on her shoulder. “Alexis, I want you to know that I love your father. And I love you. If you are uncomfortable about this, then we will…”

And that is just what every girl whose dad is getting together with his partner wants to hear.

“No! It’s not that, I’m just so excited I don’t know what to say.” Alexis reached her arms out and pulled Kate to her chest. “I have waited for this moment for a long time and I prayed that dad wouldn’t screw it up and push you away.”

It’s still early.

Kate tensed when Alexis hugged her a little too tightly and the teenager quickly pulled away, with an apologetic look on her face. “It’s ok Alexis, it would have hurt me more if you had been less emotional.”

You would be hurt if she screamed up and down about her dad dating someone?

Alexis nodded and lightly wrapped her arms back around the Detective. “I love you Kate.”

“I love you too, Alexis.”

Rick and Martha watched as Kate and Alexis shared a beautiful moment. “This calls for a celebration. Richard, unlock the cabinet holding the good stuff, I’ll get the glasses.”

“Juice for me.” Kate announced. “I’m am on some pretty powerful pain medications.”

Yes, no mixing the drinks with the drugs.

“And I’m still underage.” Alexis added.

No shit Sherlock.

“Juice for the whole family then.” Martha quickly stated.

And by juice she means wine.

“Family.” Kate whispered as she stepped closer to Rick.

“To family.” Rick announced and held out his glass. They all nodded and clinked glasses then downed their juice.

Just because you had sex with him doesn’t mean his family is yours.

“I was just about to order some food.” Martha announced as she went back to retrieve the menus. “What shall it be kiddos?”

An hour later, while the three women cleared the mess,

Okay, really where do you get food ordered and delivered to you that quickly, not to mentioned ate in an hour’s time? Seriously? I don’t know about New York, but you can’t get anything ordered and delivered in less than 30 minutes, not even Jimmy Johns is that freaky fast.

Alexis spoke up. “You are staying the night aren’t you Kate?”

Kate blushed and look over to Rick who was grinning from ear to ear and gave her an ‘I told you so’ look. “I, uh…if that’s ok with you two, then yes, I’d love to stay.”

Shouldn’t she go home, grab some new clothes, check her mail, grab her own pillow? I use to stay the night at my ex’s house all the time and still brought my own pillow.

“It’s more than ok dear,” Martha blurted out. “if it was up to us, we would be moving your stuff in as we speak.”

Call me crazy, but I believe Castle owns the place, not Martha or Alexis.

Rick stood up and went over to join the three most important people in his life. “Kate, why don’t you go run yourself a nice hot bath, I’ll bring in your medicine shortly.”

Nothing like a warm bath with your medicine being administered while you are relaxing.

“That sounds wonderful, will you bring me a book to read?”

I sure hope its Hop on Pop or some other Dr. Seuss book.

Rick pulled her hand up to his lips and kissed her fingertips. “Anything for you, my love. Which book would you like?”

She never even turned her head as she walked towards his bedroom. “Surprise me.”

Never say that to an author.

Posted on June 8, 2011, in 4evercaskett, Clichéd Fic, Down Town, grammar, Mock, NY. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I think the author is only getting a beta reader now because someone told her that her fic was being mocked. If the person hadn’t told her that, I think the thought wouldn’t have even crossed her mind.

  2. Why oh why do people write such horribly out of character characters!

    It’s infuriating, in what universe would Richard Castle ever say, “So, I’ve been thinking… we should throw a big party and announce to everyone that we are in love and..”

    I’m so glad this site exists because sometimes I think the reviewers on fanfiction.net are being too nice.

    With reviews like “Oooh I loved this, can’t wait for the next chapter to see if Castle will manage to find a ‘We just had sex’ Hallmark card or if Alexis will suddenly be allowed to drink, hurry and post the next chapter!” being bandied about on there I seriously question the state of humanity!

  3. Oh an by the way, your “Hop on Pop” comment killed me!

Leave a Reply

